Greater Birmingham Chamber reveals awards shortlist

The shortlist for an annual awards scheme which celebrates the rising stars of Birmingham’s business community has been revealed.

The Future Faces Awards are run by Greater Birmingham Chambers of Commerce and this year will recognise the city region’s top talent across ten different categories.

An overall future face of 2020 will be chosen from the individual category winners who will then receive a fully funded MBA from Aston University.

An ambassador award will also be given to a member of Future Faces who will receive a place on Common Purpose’s ‘Emerging Leaders’ programme.

Law firm Irwin Mitchell, architecture practice Gensler and Birmingham City University were among those to secure multiple nominations at the event which this year is being held for the sixth time.

The awards are open to anyone aged 35 and under.

The 2020 shortlist is:

Apprentice of the Year

Beth Mitchell, Ark Media Productions

Liam Schulz, Gensler

Brogan Maxwell, Irwin Mitchell

Taylor Rooke, Updates Media

Ellie Sanders, Xoserve

Arts and Culture

Casey Bailey, Baileys Rap and Poetry

Romanah Malcolm, Eloquent Praise and Empowerment Dance Company and Eloquent Arts Centre

Lauren Naomi Hutchinson, Girl Grind UK

Natalie Haslam, Lichfield Festival/Natalie Haslam Choreography

Lisa Mart, The Alexandra

Charity and Social Enterprise

Nathan Bendon, 5UP

Shani Dhanda, Asian Woman Festival

Hannah Simnett, Cherished UK

Joe White, Cure Leukaemia

Olivia Barker White, Kids Club Kampala


Omran Al Habbal, Birmingham Enterprise Community

Steven Byford, Byford Homes

Chukwudi Ononye, Chefiesta

Kieran Quinlan, The PIT Gym

Kasim Choudhry, Thinkfest


Rebekah Taitt, Barclays

Joanna Drinkwater, Grant McKnight

Stuart Bowles, Parity Network

Jaccy Datta, Santander

Adam Rollason, Smith Cooper


Michal Nowinski, Arup

Teik Tan, Balfour Beatty

Michael Pepper, Crown Highways

Rachel Doherty, Gensler

Yung-Yu Lau, Jacobs


Becky Knott, Barker Brettell

James Farmer, Cornwall Street Barristers

Lucy Bloom, Irwin Mitchell

Megan Ball, Irwin Mitchell

Katy Bourne, Pinsent Masons

Public Sector and Education

Atif Ali, Birmingham City Council

Richard Booth, Birmingham City University

Tom Dockerill, Birmingham City University

Islam Issa, Birmingham City University

Joel Harrison, BMet

Sales, Marketing and Communications

Hattie D’Souza, East Village Agency

Sarah Yates, Gensler

Daniel Nikolla, Hardy Signs

Mat Lovell, Millennium Point

Will Savage, PLMR Birmingham

Technology and Innovation

Maciej Kraj, Gensler

Jono Gilworth, Gymshark

Lynda Gillson, Spica Technologies

Karl Nicholson, Synaptek

Tom Goodman, University of Birmingham

Anjum Khan, a director of the Asian Business Chamber of Commerce, was chairwoman of the judging panel.

She said: “Every year when these awards come around, we never fail to be amazed by the quality and variety of the entries.

“It’s a true testament to some of the wonderful things young people are doing across the region, whether it be in creative industries, professional services, technology, marketing, the public and third sectors, apprenticeships or through entrepreneurial spirit.

“The judges were very impressed by the standard this year and we now look forward to the big night when the award winners are revealed.”

An online only ceremony will take place on August 28.